Saturday, 11 April 2026

Prague, Czech Republic Day One 11th April 26

On Saturday the 11th April 2026 we caught a 730am flight from London Stansted to Prague airport. After a 20 minute queue through the new EES system taking photo, fingerprints and answering a few questions we were through. I booked a Bolt cab on the app and we were at the Ibis Wenceslas Square hotel in 40 minutes. Our room was ready and we were in the room by 12 noon. We then walked down to Muzeum Metro station bought our 3 day travel passes and caught the metro to the Staroměstská stop.

We walk down Kaprova and pass the La Bodeguita del Medio Praha, a Cuban restaurant with a lovely 1949 Buick Super Eight sedan parked outside.

There was a large Police presence in the city as a protest was going on.

When encountering a much larger crowd of blockers chanting slogans such as “Jesus would have walked with us” and “Her body, her choice”, small groups of ultra-conservatives usually simply left from elsewhere – accompanied by heavy-duty men. The contacts between the groups remained non-violent, with feminists always trying to simply outrun conservatives with balloons and chant. In any case, the number of people mobilised by the Prague is Feminist collective on the streets significantly exceeded the number of people marching against abortion.

We reach the Old Town Square, that still had a Easter Market on. Today was the last day of the market.

We walk around and see the Astronomical Clock that Prague is famous for.

The Prague Astronomical Clock is the world’s most famous Medieval clock. It was built in 1410 by the clock makers Mikuláš of Kadaň and Jan Šindel. However, until 1961, when a document was found revealing the real identities of the authors of the Astronomical Clock, it was believed that this masterpiece had been made by the clock master Hanuš. The legend also recounts that the author believed to be responsible for this masterpiece, Hanuš, was blinded by Prague Councillors when they discovered that he was making an even better clock for another city. The clock was repaired by Jan Taborský during the sixteenth century.

The Astronomical Clock is located on the southern wall of the Old Town City Hall. More about this clock when we visit it again on day 3 of our trip, when we watch the show on the hour.

Near the clock is a place called 'The House at the Minute'.

This building, part of the Old Town Hall complex, is a typical example of Czech Renaissance townhouse architecture. The facade, decorated with sgraffito, depicts scenes drawn from biblical and mythological sources, as well as contemporary Renaissance legends. Franz Kafka and his parents lived here from 1889 to 1896.

The house was about to be demolished, together with the neighbouring Pecoldovský House, in order to align the block of houses between the Old Town Square and the Small Square (Malé náměstí). Luckily, a Committee for listing the constructional, artistic and historical monuments of the Capital City of Prague was against it, and when some sgraffitoes were discovered on the neighbouring house in 1905, a decision was made that both houses would remain where they were.

Here in the square is also the Central Gallery. Sophisticated, 3-story museum featuring Andy Warhol, Salvador Dali & Alfons Mucha exhibitions.

We had a mooch about the Easter Market and much like most Christmas Markets it was full of overpriced Food and craft stalls.

As we leave the square on Staroměstské nám is Samba Tour Prague that do Car tours of Prague.

Outside is a Citroën Traction Avant. 

The Citroën Traction Avant (French for "front-wheel drive") is a revolutionary automobile produced by the French manufacturer Citroën from 1934 to 1957. Designed by André Lefèbvre and Flaminio Bertoni, it was one of the first mass-produced cars to feature a unibody (monocoque) chassis, four-wheel independent suspension, and front-wheel drive, making it a major milestone in automotive history.


As we walk towards the river we pass by The Church of the Holy Ghost in the Josefov district.

The Church of the Holy Ghost (Kostel svatého Ducha) is a historic Gothic, later Baroque-style church located in Prague's Old Town near the Jewish Quarter, situated between Široká, Dušní, and Eliška Krásnohorská streets. Originally part of a convent, it is known for its single-aisle design, a 35.5-metre high tower, and a distinct white exterior.

Next to the church is a statue of Franz Kalfa.

A statue of Franz Kafka by artist Jaroslav Róna was installed on Vězeňská street in the Jewish Quarter of Prague, Czech Republic in December 2003.  It depicts Franz Kafka riding on the shoulders of a headless figure, in reference to the author's 1912 story "Description of a Struggle" (Beschreibung eines Kampfes).

A beautiful 1962 Cadillac Coupe DeVille.

A bit further on we see another classic car outside The Hangar Bar Prague is a stylish establishment with the original atmosphere of 1940-60´s aviation. It combines the style and beauty of the pioneering Pan Am Airlines in the upper-floor Pilot’s Lounge with the recklessness of the stunt and military pilots in the Hangar Club placed on the bottom floor. In Hangar Bar Prague you can enjoy your cocktail and meal in peace, or experience a wild atmosphere with the show going on till the morning hours. The Hangar Cocktail Bar, Music Club and Restaurant is located in the popular cocktail-bar quarter in Dušní 9, Prague 1.

We reach the River Vltava and walk up to the Cech Bridge.

Čech Bridge is the tenth Prague bridge over the Vltava River. It is 16 metres wide and 169 metres long and is the shortest bridge in Prague.

We take a stroll alongside the river in the sunshine.

Above the river on the far bank is the Hanavský Pavilion.

One of the most impressive Art Nouveau structures in the city, it was originally built as the representative pavilion of the Komárov Ironworks for the Prague Jubilee Exhibition in 1891. It was the first cast iron structure in Prague, and today it’s a luxury restaurant with one of the most beautiful panoramic views of the Prague bridges.

Further along we have views up to Prague Castle which we will visit tomorrow.

We can see the famous Charles Bridge as we walk on a bit further.

Charles Bridge is a medieval stone arch bridge that crosses the Vltava river in Prague, Czech Republic. Its construction started in 1357 under the auspices of King Charles IV, and finished in the early 15th century. The bridge replaced the old Judith Bridge built 1158–1172 that had been severely damaged by a flood in 1342. This new bridge was originally called Stone Bridge (Kamenný most) or Prague Bridge (Pražský most), but has been referred to as "Charles Bridge" since 1870.

As the only means of crossing the river Vltava until 1841, Charles Bridge was the most important connection between Prague Castle and the city's Old Town and adjacent areas. This land connection made Prague important as a trade route between Eastern and Western Europe. The bridge is located on the historic coronation route of the Bohemian kings.

This bridge is always busy but its a Saturday afternoon and is silly busy!

The bridge is 516 metres (1,693 ft) long and nearly 10 metres (33 ft) wide. Following the example of the Stone Bridge in Regensburg, it was built as a bow bridge with 16 arches shielded by ice guards. It is protected by three bridge towers, two on the Lesser Quarter side (including the Malá Strana Bridge Tower) and one on the Old Town side, the Old Town Bridge Tower. The bridge is decorated by a continuous alley of 30 statues and statuaries, most of them baroque-style, originally erected around 1700, but now all have been replaced by replicas.

The bridge is currently undergoing a twenty-year process of structural inspections, restoration, and repairs. The process started in late 2019, and is expected to cost 45–60 million CZK (US$1.9–2.6 million).

We make our way over the bridge to the halfway mark.


Throughout its history, Charles Bridge has suffered several disasters and witnessed many historic events. Czech legend has it that construction began on Charles Bridge at 5:31am on 9 July 1357 with the first stone being laid by Charles IV himself. This exact time was very important to the Holy Roman Emperor because he was a strong believer in numerology and felt that this specific time, which formed a palindrome (1357 9/7 5:31), was a numerical bridge, and would imbue Charles Bridge with additional strength. The bridge was completed 45 years later in 1402. A flood in 1432 damaged three pillars. In 1496 the third arch (counting from the Old Town side) broke down after one of the pillars lowered, being undermined by the water (repairs were finished in 1503). A year after the Battle of White Mountain, when the 27 leaders of the anti-Habsburg revolt were executed on 21 June 1621, the Old Town Bridge Tower served as a deterrent display of the severed heads of the victims to stop Czechs from further resistance. During the end of the Thirty Years' War in 1648, the Swedes occupied the west bank of the Vltava, and as they tried to advance into the Old Town the heaviest fighting took place right on the bridge. During the fighting, they severely damaged one side of the Old Town bridge tower (the side facing the river) and the remnants of almost all gothic decorations had to be removed from it afterward. During the late 17th century and early 18th century the bridge gained its typical appearance when an alley of baroque statues was installed on the pillars. During a great flood in 1784, five pillars were severely damaged and, although the arches did not break down, the traffic on the bridge had to be greatly restricted for some time.

We walk back over the bridge and down Karlova.

Murals and wall paintings of The Good Soldier Švejk (Josef Švejk), the famous satirical character by Jaroslav Hašek, are found in Prague, frequently decorating the entrances of traditional Czech restaurants. Specific stencil street art and murals appear in the Old Town (Staré Město) and Lesser Town districts, often featuring the character with the slogan "I love everybody".

Here above is the  'Man Hanging Out' - David Černý's Statue of Sigmund Freud.

First created in 1996, the work known as "Zavěšený muž" ("Man Hanging Out") is the vision of Czech sculptor David Černý, whose work can actually be found all across Prague. Many of Cerny's works are seen as somewhat deliberately provocative, and this one is no different. The dangling Freud is surprisingly lifelike at a distance, and a number of people have sincerely taken it for a person in danger. However, it is simply a sculptural statement about intellectualism in the 20th century and Černý's uncertainty about it.

The piece, even if it was somewhat controversial, was still quite popular after its unveiling and was able to tour the world, being displayed in places ranging from London to Grand Rapids, Michigan.

However, the piece is back in Prague, hanging extended over a tight, historic street, causing passersby to look away from the ancient surrounds and take a look up to ponder the future. With luck, Freud won't be coming down anytime soon, and neither will 20th-century intellectualism.

We walk on through the city and find another David Cerny sculpture., 'Butterfly Effect 'by David Cerny.

It is an innovative art installation located on the facade of the Máj Národní department store in Prague. Unveiled in 2024, it features monumental butterflies designed from Spitfire fighter planes, symbolizing a tribute to Czechoslovak pilots who served in WWII. The dynamic visual effects created by changing colours and moving wings captivate visitors, making it a highlight of public art that bridges tradition with modernity.

Franz Kafka - Rotating Head by David Cerny

Just around the Corner from the last David Cerny piece is another! We stop here for a coffee at Starbucks whilst we wait for the on the hour show.

The Head of Franz Kafka, created by controversial artist David Černý, is a monumental kinetic sculpture located in Prague, Czech Republic. Installed in 2014, the piece stands 10.6 metres tall and weighs approximately 39 tons, representing the complex and shifting identity of the famous author.
The sculpture consists of 42 independently rotating layers of mirror-polished stainless steel. Each layer can rotate 360 degrees, driven by a complex system of motors and a kilometre of cables.

The constant movement and fragmentation of the face are widely seen as a metaphor for Kafka's "Metamorphosis", his inner self-doubt, and the feeling of being a "cog in the machine" of society.

Performance Schedule: The head typically "comes to life" at the top of every hour (usually from 8:00 AM to 9:00 PM), with the rotation sequence lasting about 15 minutes.

We walk a short distance on to visit the Lucerna Palace shopping arcade.

One of the most interesting modern Prague palazzos was built between 1907—1920. The investor, organizer and constructor, rolled into one, was ing. Václav Havel, entrepreneur, whose grandson — Václav Havel — later became President.

The most famous "horse" by David Černý is the provocative statue titled "
Kůň" (The Horse), which depicts Saint Wenceslas sitting on the belly of an upside-down, dead horse suspended from the ceiling. Created in 1999, it is a mocking parody of the iconic equestrian statue of the same saint located in Wenceslas Square.

Although it looks like bronze, it is actually made of lightweight polystyrene foam and epoxy.

We walk up the staircase with the beautiful Art Nouveau Stained glass glowing above to get a photo of the Horse Statue from above.



We leave the Lucerna Palace and walk to Wenceslas Square.
Sadly the square is undergoing renovations on our visit.

Wenceslas Square s a 750-metre-long, bustling boulevard in the heart of Prague’s New Town, serving as a major commercial, social, and historical centre. Originally a 14th-century horse market, it is now a vibrant hub for shopping, nightlife, and culture, featuring the National Museum and the iconic St. Wenceslas statue.

A significant meeting point, this monument features the patron saint of Bohemia on horseback, surrounded by other Czech saints.

The square is lined with hotels, restaurants, bars, and international brands, making it a major commercial centre.
Located at the top of the square, this prominent landmark offers extensive history and natural science exhibitions.

Wenceslas Square  in Prague, established in 1348 by Charles IV as the "Horse Market", served as a major medieval trading hub for horses and agricultural goods. Today, it is a 750-metre-long, 60-metre-wide commercial boulevard featuring the iconic 1913 St. Wenceslas equestrian statue.

We made it back to the hotel for an afternoon nap after a very early start this morning.

We head out later for dinner and visit The Pub Praha 2 on Hálkova.

Its busy with stag parties with tables with beer taps on them!

I have burger and Mel the Chicken Schnitzel, a pint and a half of Pilsner Urquell and all for a measley £20 ish!

We head back to the Charles Bridge to capture it by night, a lot quieter now!

Prague, the capital of the Czech Republic, is a top European destination known for its stunning Gothic, Renaissance, and Baroque architecture, earning it the nickname "City of a Hundred Spires". With a population of about 1.4 million, it offers a romantic atmosphere, vibrant beer culture, and a rich history preserved in its UNESCO-listed historic centre.

Prague has been the capital of the historical region of Bohemia for centuries and served as the seat of Holy Roman Emperor Charles IV. It has been a significant cultural and political centre, transitioning from a medieval royal city to a communist-era hub, and now to a vibrant, popular tourist capital.

The Calvary monument (also known as the Statuary of the Holy Crucifix and Calvary) is one of the most historically significant and controversial sculptures on Charles Bridge in Prague. Located on the third pillar of the north side, it is the oldest surviving statuary site on the bridge, with a cross standing there in some form since the 14th century.





We head back to the hotel for the night, a good first day in Prague!

Wednesday, 4 March 2026

Camber Sands and Rye, East Sussex 3rd to 4th March 26

On Tuesday the 3rd March 2026 we drove down to Camber Sands in East Sussex and checked into our caravan on Parkdeans Camber Sands Site.

After a coffee in the caravan we went for a walk down to the beach.

There is this stretch of shingle beach but most here at Camber is golden sand.

Camber Sands beach is famous for the long ridges of sand dunes leading down to miles of soft golden sands. Camber has been the location for many films such as The Monuments Men (2014), Dunkirk (1958), Follow That Camel (1967), The Invisible Woman (2013), and the 2022 film Empire of Light, especially if 'desert shots' are required.
We had battered sausages and chips at Fish Me a Dish by the beach. Hands down possibly the worse sausage I've ever tasted!
We return back to the site and in time for Mel to enjoy bingo followed by a Parkdean Staff Rock show.

Wednesday 4th March 2026 - Rye East Sussex.

The next day we woke up and after breakfast we drove the short way into Rye and parked up at the Rope Street car park and we walk into town.

After a walk about we reach the famous Mermaid Street here in Rye.

Mermaid Street in Rye, East Sussex, is a renowned, highly picturesque cobbled street lined with 15th–17th century timber-framed houses. 

Famed as one of England's prettiest streets, it features historic sites like the 12th-century Mermaid Inn, a former smuggling hotspot and charming cottages, offering a quintessential medieval atmosphere.

Known for iconic, half-timbered houses and quaint facades, including "The House with Two Front Doors".

A steep, cobblestone thoroughfare that feels like a "fairy tale" or a step back in time, often crowded with photographers and tourists.


The Mermaid Inn: Rebuilt in 1420, it is famous for its history, ghost stories, and as a former stronghold for the Hawkhurst Gang of smugglers.

The Hawkhurst Gang was a notorious criminal organisation involved in smuggling throughout south-east England from 1735 until 1749. One of the more infamous gangs of the early 18th century, they extended their influence from Hawkhurst, their base in Kent, along the South coast, where they successfully raided the Custom House, Poole. After they were defeated in a battle with the Goudhurst militia in 1747, two of their leaders, Arthur Gray and Thomas Kingsmill, were executed in 1748 and 1749, respectively.

We walk up West Street Passing the NT Lamb House and up to St Marys Church.

Rye had been held by the Abbey of Fécamp in Normandy for a long time as a Royal deed of gift. This status originating from times before the Norman Conquest got lost at 1247, but until this relationship ended the profit for the parish had been so great that a large church could be built, which was called the "Cathedral of East Sussex" until recent times. During a severe raid by French marauders, the town and the parish church were looted and set on fire. The damage to the church was extensive, and the last repairs resulting from this fire were made in the 19th century. The following year a group of men from Rye and Winchelsea struck back and recovered the loot including the stolen bells. To deter potential invaders from any future attack one of the bells was hung in the Watchbell Street. The Huguenot Lewys Billiard made the "New Clock", which is one of the oldest church turret clocks that still works. It had been installed in 1561–2. A huge pendulum reaching into the church's body was added later, as was the actual face of the clock and the so-called "Quarter Boys".


During the Reformation many precious items, that belonged to the church were sold or removed. Parts of the building became secular. The Chapels were separated from the church. They were used as a gaol, for storage for many things, including the town fire pump, and also as a butcher's shop. In the 17th and 19th centuries those changes were reversed and parts of the church renewed.

The church is a cruciform building. Its chancel, the crossing, transepts and the nave were built from 1150 to 1180. Alterations were made in the 15th century. North and South aisles were added during the late 12th century., North and South chapels 1220–1250. Flying buttresses were added at the south east end of the chancel in the 15th century. Very well worked out perpendicular windows can be seen at the east end of the chancel and south chapel. Pews were installed in the 19th century, but the mayor's seat is from 1547 and it is very well worked out. During civic services it is placed near to the pulpit, which is also from that time. The stained glass windows are mostly Victorian and include a window by Sir Edward Burne-Jones (1891) in memory of Mary Tiltman. It can be found in the north aisle.

In 1742 the churchyard was the site of a crime. The butcher John Breeds accidentally murdered Allen Grebell instead of the mayor he really intended to kill. John Breeds was hanged and gibbeted. His skull, which is the only remains of him, was brought to the town hall and remains there. Both are still said to haunt the churchyard.

As we leave the church grounds we walk on down to the Rye Castle Museum, Ypes Tower.

Rye Castle, also known as Ypres Tower, was built in the 13th or 14th centuries.

The exact date of construction is unclear although the possibility of creating a castle at Rye was mentioned in documents of 1226 and 1249. In 1329 Murage was applied for and works carried out during the 14th century before and after attacks by the French. Rye became one of the Cinque Ports and was involved in both defence and trade. It was originally called "Baddings Tower".

During King Henry VIII's Device Fort programme, an artillery battery, known as the Gun Garden, was constructed adjacent to the castle overlooking the harbour. It was rearmed at the time of the Spanish Armada of 1588, and again during the 18th century wars with France. In 1830, it was still in active service with 18 guns.

The castle may have been used as a prison and in 1430 became the property of John de Iprys; which lead to the name Ypres Tower. In the 16th century it was used as a prison and courthouse with a full-time gaoler being appointed in 1796. An exercise yard was added and then a women's prison in 1837. The prison function continued until 1891. It then became the town's morgue.

View back to St Marys Church

The tower was damaged during air raids in World War II but has been repaired and restored since then.

Ypres Tower is one of two sites of Rye Castle Museum and is a grade I listed building. Exhibits in the tower include locally made medieval pottery, an embroidery depicting many aspects of Rye life and history, medieval artifacts, activities and town maps.

The East Street Site, a former brewer's bottling factory, is the main exhibit area for the Rye Castle Museum. Opened in 1999, the local history exhibits include fire fighting equipment, trade changes caused by the sea's retreat, maritime history and shipbuilding, antique toys and games, photos, town seals, and archaeological artifacts.


We walk down the steps passing the Ypes Castle Inn that sadly wasn't open yet.

Down the bottom on Fishmarket Road we walk along a bit and then back up a slope to East Cliff.

Here we reach Landgate, an iconic piece of history, standing firm since the 14th century.

Dating from about 1340, the Landgate is the only surviving gate from the town walls built to defend Rye from French attack in the 14th century. Defences included machicolations above the archway, from which stones and other materials could be dropped on attackers, as well as a portcullis, which was removed in 1735.

The Landgate, Rye, East Sussex, was built in 1329 when Edward III made grants for further fortifying the town, and of the four gateways built this is the only existing one. It has a chamber over the arch and two towers. There were gates, a portcullis and a drawbridge.

We are back near the car park again now, but decide to hunt out a tearoom before we go back to the caravan.

So we cut back through to a road called the mint and to The Cobbles Tearoom, one of the oldest tearoom in Rye.

We have a lovely Cream tea here.

We make our way back to the car and decide to drive down to Rye Harbour for a look about there.

Rye Harbour is located some two miles (3.2 km) downstream of the town of Rye.

Rye Harbour village dates from the early nineteenth century, having been built on an extension of the shingle beaches, progressively deposited by the sea over the last 800 years. These deposits limit access to the original open medieval port of Rye, now two miles (3 km) inland. The village has one of the chain of Martello Towers constructed during the Napoleonic Wars; it was built on the beachline of the time. The beachline has now advanced a further kilometre southward.


Its geography has thus been shaped by its position at the frontier with the sea and at the frontier of the United Kingdom.

The initial establishment was that of a company of dragoons in 1805, followed shortly after by the first fishermen's huts and the building of the Martello Tower (1809–10). As the Napoleonic wars ended so the smuggling trade which had long flourished all along the south coast again increased in scope and intensity, leading to the establishment of the Coast Blockade. A watch house was built about 1825 to provide shelter and support for the blockade detachments and still stands, complete with the flagstaff for signalling to shipping.

The harbour is also known for the tragedy of the Mary Stanford lifeboat. At 6:45 am on the morning of 15 November 1928, the Mary Stanford from the Rye Harbour RNLI station responded needlessly to a Latvian steamer in distress. The crew of the Mary Stanford did not know that the vessel had already been rescued by another lifeboat and, in heavy rain and seas, all of the seventeen-man crew of the Mary Stanford were drowned. The reason for this is still contested. The bodies of all but the Coxswain's son, John Head, were found and buried. A memorial service in honour of the Mary Stanford and its crew takes place every year in the village.

A beautiful Aston Martin DB6 was being treated to a detail here on the harbour-side.

We drove back to the Caravan park and Mel had an afternoon nap whilst I walked down to the sand dunes on Camber Sands to take in the views and enjoy a local Balfour Jakes Cider made in Staplehurst, Kent.

These are the only sand dunes in East Sussex, offering a habitat for wildlife and a stunning backdrop for coastal walks.


The dunes are vital to the area’s ecology and coastal protection. Visitors are advised to respect these areas and use designated paths.



Another night of Bingo and drinking in the clubhouse before the drive home tomorrow.